1.30pm   Registration

Opening Ceremony

Mr Ola Elvestuen, Minister of Climate and Environment, Norway

Dr Lam Pin Min, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Transport, Singapore

Mr Felipe Andrada Judan, Undersecretary for Maritime, Department of Transportation, the Philippines

Mr Reinhard Klingen, Director-General of Waterways and Shipping in the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure of Germany

Mr Peter Thomson, UN Special Envoy for the Oceans

Mr Kitack Lim, Secretary General of IMO


Setting the scene

Reality check – what are the present challenges and options? How strong is the willingness to change?

Chaired by Prof. Tommy Koh, Ambassador-at-Large, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and MPA Special Advisor

- Ms Cristina Saenz de Santa Maria, Regional Director for South East Asia, Pacific & India, DNV GL - Presentation of DNV GL study “Identifying opportunities for emission reduction from maritime transport in ASEAN” 

- Mr Hideaki Saito, Director for Shipbuilding and Ship Machinery Division, Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Tourism, Japan

- Mr Sittisal Choon-ura, Chief of Ship Engineering and Innovation Group, Ship Standard Bureau, Marine Department, Thailand - “Thailand’s Perspective on Green Shipping”

- Mr Esben Poulsson, Chairman for International Chamber of Shipping and President, Singapore Shipping Association - "A global IMO strategy for greenhouse gas emissions – Insights from the industry"

- Mr Vidar Helgesen, Ambassador for the Ocean, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Norway


Tea Break


Innovation systems, technological and commercial solutions

Inspiration time – what has the private sector already to offer of technologies and visions for the future, combining efficient and environmentally friendly solutions?

Chaired by Dr. Ralf Sören Marquardt, Managing Director of German Shipbuilding and Ocean Industries Association VSM (Accr. CESA representative to IMO)

- Mr Mikkel Weum, Head of Commercial – Shuttle Tankers, Teekay Corp. - “Battery hybrid run shuttle tankers”

- Mr Simon Kuik, Vice President and Head Research & Development, Sembcorp Marine - “Sustainable Innovations and Solutions for Marine and Offshore”

- Ms Kristin Nordal, Head of External Communication, Yara International ASA and Mr Ketil O. Paulsen, Technology General Manager, Kongsberg Maritime - “Autonomous battery operated container ships”

- Mr Tor M. Østervold, CEO, ECOSUBSEA - “Innovative hull cleaning systems”

- Mr Dirk Lehmann, CEO, Becker Marine Systems GmbH - “Innovation for challenging Markets”

- Dr Matthias Auer, Head of Performance, Advanced Engineering, MAN Diesel & Turbo SE -  “Green propulsion system”

Welcome Reception

Hosted by Minister Ola Elvestuen, Ministry of Climate and Environment, Norway
9.30am   Registration and coffee

Asia and Europe – Partnerships and perspectives

Learning from each other, working together – what more should national governments do; and how to increase cooperation between regions and among ASEM partners?

Chaired by Mr Felipe Andrada Judan, Undersecretary for Maritime, Department of Transportation, the Philippines

- Dr. Malini Shankar, Director General of Shipping, Government of India

- Ms Angela Png, Director, International Division, Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore, Representative of the ASEAN Maritime Transport Working Group Chair

- Mr Olav Akselsen, Norway’s Director General of Shipping and Navigation

- Ambassador Dewa Made Sastrawan, Senior Advisor to the Minister of Transportation on International Relations, Indonesia

- Mr Laurent Daniel, Senior Economist, Directorate for Sciences, Technology and Innovation, Structural Policy Division, OECD


Tea Break


Making use of technology and policy for the green shift in the maritime sector

Green transformation of the Blue Business through successful public-private partnerships and required global and national legislation – how do we make it happen; in all continents, with all required partners on board?

Chaired by Mr Sveinung Oftedal, Specialist Director, Ministry of Climate and Environment, Norway

- Mr Hideaki Saito, Chair of IMO Marine Environment Protection Committee

- Mr Billy Kan, Executive Director, CEO, Chairman and Major Shareholder of China LNG Group.

- Mr Mario Moretti, Council Member, Singapore Shipping Association

- Mr Amund Drønen Ringdal, Director, Norwegian Shipowners’ Association

- Mr Biju Ninan Oommen, Senior Port & Maritime Transport Specialist, The World Bank


Presentation of Chair’s Summary of the Conference and Closing Remarks

Mr Daniel Bjarmann-Simonsen, State Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Industry, Norway


Hosted by State Secretary Bjarmann-Simonsen, Ministry of Trade and Industry, Norway

Conclusion of programme

For more information or other enquiries, please email secretariat@asemgreenshipping.com.